A Statement of Solidarity with #BlackLivesMatter

A Statement of Solidarity with #BlackLivesMatter

We are horrified by the recent act of injustice and violence that led to the death of George Floyd in Minnesota, USA and stand in solidarity with the peaceful global #BlackLivesMatter Movement. We can't be silent as a youth organisation that fundamentally stands for diversity and equality. Embedded in all our activities and principles, we welcome people of all colors, genders, races, religions and groups.

Across the globe, people of all backgrounds, races, and identities are demanding action against institutional racism and discrimination, and Youth for Road Safety is joining this call. We recognize that, in order for young people to lead grassroots movements and advocate for meaningful participation, we must address and dismantle the historic systematic racism that inflicts suffering on black people, and other marginalized groups.

The suffering we speak of applies not only to violence experienced as a consequence of police brutality, but also to the deeply entrenched harms from health disparities, lack of job opportunities, unequal access to safe transportation options, underfunded public education, and the lack of a voice in shared decision-making.

We stand as a community that will not remain silent and will continue our own efforts to review and take action to ensure non-discriminatory practices. Our youth mobilization approaches and evidence-based actions reflect our commitment to equity of participation and protection.

At the core of our efforts to create an equitable mobility system for young people, we strive to remove socioeconomic, cultural, and discriminatory barriers that fuel inequities and compromise the opportunities people have to move freely, safely, and live the lives they value.

We hear you. We stand with you. #BlackLivesMatter.




Prof. Shanthi Ameratunga

Supervisory Board

Fannar Freyr Atlason

Youth Advisory Board

Alex Ayub

Master Trainer

Raquel Barrios

Project Manager

Soumita Chakraborty

Youth Advisory Board

Manpreet Darroch

Head of Communications

Thiago Gruner

Co-Chairperson 2nd World Youth Assembly for Road Safety

Prof. Adnan A. Hyder

Supervisory Board (Vice-Chair)

Ritu Jain

Youth Advisory Board

Floor Lieshout

Executive Director

Maolin Macatangay

Youth Advisory Board

Olivia Nalwadda

Youth Advisory Board

Omnia El Omrani

Co-Chairperson 2nd World Youth Assembly for Road Safety

Dr. Wim Rogmans

Supervisory Board (Chair)

Jacob Smith

North American Regional Coordinator

Grace Willems

Youth Advisory Board



*(alphabetical order)